Driving Safety Course
In order to take a driving safety course, a defendant must first make an appearance at the court office, sign an agreement and pay the court cost. A defendant charged with a moving traffic violation under the state law may be eligible to take a driving safety course to have the ticket dismissed, as a conviction on the Defendant's permanent record. If a ticket is dismissed under this provision, it will not appear as a conviction on the driving record and according to state law, should not affect insurance premiums. To determine eligibility, a driving safety course must not have been taken 12 months before the date of the citation. Please call the Angleton Municipal Court if you have any question.
If eligibility is determined, the defendant must appear at the court office to:
- Enter a plea of no contest or guilty
- Pay applicable state court costs and administrative fees.
- Present a valid Texas driver's license
- Present valid insurance with the defendant's name on the policy
Not all offenses under the Texas Transportation Code are subject to dismissal upon completion of a driving safety course. A driver will not be eligible to have a charge dismissed by completing a driving safety course if:
- The alleged moving violation has occurred in a construction zone with workers present
- The alleged speed is 25 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit
- The alleged violation is passing a school bus while loading or unloading students
- The driver holds a commercial driver's license
Defendants 16 years of age or younger must make a formal court appearance in front of a judge with a parent or legal guardian to request permission to take a driving safety course.
How to Request a Driving Safety Course
Defendants other than juveniles may request permission to take a driving safety course between the hours of 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, on or before your scheduled court date. Defendants must present the following at the time of request along with payment of court costs to the court clerk:
- Insurance card showing defendant's name as a covered driver on the policy
- Defendant's valid Texas Driver's License (no CDLs)
- Pay the Court Cost (no personal checks will be accepted)
If the request is not made by the court date, the defendant may lose the option to take the course.
Please contact the court office at 979-849-2471 Monday through Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Costs & Fees
Applicable state court costs and administrative fees are $109.00 or $134.00 if the offense is in a school zone. The receipt, an application for a driving record, the deadline for taking the class, and turning in documents will be returned to the address on the citation. The higher amount applies to violations within a school zone.
The original certificate of completion from the course and the defendant's driving record (type 3A certified) must be submitted together to the court in person, or by certified mail by the due date provided on driving safety order. Failure to take the course and turn in the documents by the due date may result in a conviction being entered and payment of the remaining balance becoming due.
Ask about the driver's safety classes that can e-file your completion certificate.